Visit with college buddies & chocolate pie!

10 Jun

Our friends Linsey, Stephen, and their adorable daughter Leland came to visit. We were so excited to visit and show them Greenville. We had a great time. 🙂 Seeing loved ones from home makes me homesick. Linsey was my college roomie and first friend I had at Central. We both transferred into the photojournalism program our junior years and became best buddies. I remember our shared love for Incubus ( mmm Brandon Boyd…hahah) and of course photography! We have been best buds ever since. I can’t believe this was 10 years ago!! Wow.

20120610-194725.jpg

I also have another amazing dessert to share. I got this idea from a friend of a friend, who is now my friend ( yeah, I just typed that). She came to our small group with this amazing chocolate tofu pie. Needless to say I was intrigued because it was delicious.

I found a similar recipe online and tweaked it a smidgen. Also it’s a great platform for trying a new yummy grain free/ gluten free crust recipe. I made this pie twice now and each time it was amazing.

Here is the recipe:

I would make the crust first or a day before because it needs to be completely cooled before the filling goes in.

1 cup pecans
1 cup walnuts
1 tablespoon melted butter
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
4 tablespoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon water

Place nuts in food processor; grind until fine.
Add melted butter, brown sugar, vanilla and water.
Continue processing till mixture begins falling off sides of bowl.
Press into 9-inch pie pan.

Bake at 325° for 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Filling:
Approx 13 ounces chocolate chips ( half milk chocolate and half semi sweet chocolate)
1/3 cup Kahlua or strong brewed coffee
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 pound silken tofu, drained
1 tablespoon honey
Top with favorite berries

The very first thing I do here is place the tofu in a colander to drain it. I let it sit for at least 20 minutes to get the excess moisture out.
Melt the chocolate chips, Kalhua or coffee, and vanilla using the double boiler method. I use a pan filled half way with water with a metal or glass bowl on top. This keeps the chocolate from burning.
Once melted place in food processor with the tofu and honey, blend until smooth.
Pour into cooled crust.
The original recipe suggested two hours cooling/ setting time in the fridge. I have cooled overnight both times so I’m not sure if two hours is enough.
Once cooled place berries on top. I have used raspberries and blackberries. Both were yummy!
You should try this it’s super easy and so good.

Filling Adapted from Alton Brown’s Mooless Pie:
Crust adapted from Food.com

20120610-193121.jpg

20120610-193418.jpg

Leave a Reply

