Waffles!

13 May

I love waffles. They remind me of when my mom used to make me a special breakfast as a kid. I love the way they get crunchy in the waffle iron. Plus it’s a great excuse for eating real maple syrup. The kind that is almost painfully sweet. I prefer the Michigan kind– it’s my personal favorite. This recipe is not dairy free— worth the lactose bellyache for me. But I’m sure you could try with some dairy substitutes.

GF waffles adapted from Martha

2 cups Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose GF flour
1/4 cup almond meal
2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 stick melted butter
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
2 eggs
2 cups low fat buttermilk (I make a substitute that you can find here)

Mix the dry ingredients and the wet ingredients separately. Slowly stir the dry ingredients into the wet– being careful not to over mix. The batter will be runny, but it cooks up just fine.

Grease a waffle iron and cook for about 5 minutes a batch. These get crunchy and delicious. Enjoy!

20120513-193735.jpg

4 Responses to “Waffles!”

  1. Needle and Fork May 13, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    those waffles look fantastic! what machine do you use?

    http://www.needleandfork.com

    • lynnegbosma May 13, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

      Hi,
      Thanks for stopping by! I use a Krumps Belgian waffle maker–http://www.amazon.com/Krups-654-75-Wafflechef-Indicators-Stainless/dp/B00004SPEG
      It was a good wedding present. 🙂

  2. Food Follower May 13, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    These waffles look so good!

Leave a Reply

