>I’ve debated that I would like to keep blogging

2 Oct

>Helloooo there–brace yourself for a long post.

I like to read blogs. At one time I had a personal blog that shared our life with friends and family that lived far away. I think the last time I updated that was about 2 years ago… (sorry guys). I miss writing to folks. Specifically, I miss keeping a history of what’s going on in my life. I love reading about what Lynne and John were like 2 years ago.
So, what will this blog include you might say? Well I hope to discuss my ongoing journey into racing and fitness and add in some other happenings along the way. I have learned a ton about myself this year and would like to document that junk.
Hmmm so what has happened since Tri Latta? Well, I did the Greenville Sprint in August. Mom Bosma was in town for the weekend and it so happened that she got to see me race. It was awesome having her and John cheering me on. It was also amazing to race a second time. The nerves were still pretty bad before the swim but, I felt like it was 1000X easier once you know what to expect. It was perfect weather for that race with temps in the 70s and overcast (which was so awesome since it was in the 90s earlier that week). I did well overall. The distance was shorter than the last sprint..but I shaved 45 minutes off my time or so. This just really emphasized how I bombed with hydration the last time.
I also got the pleasure of mentoring the new season of triathletes with TNT. Which I think I learned more from them..then they did from me. 🙂 That was a blast. I continued to train with folks and share my newbie knowledge to help encourage folks. So much fun! They completed their races recently and raised money to fight blood cancer and did an awesome job.
So, this leaves me with the end of my first tri-season. I had a decision to make. Keep going and try another race..or something else. I didn’t want to lose my overall fitness. This is the best shape I have been since highschool. 🙂 And I love endurance sports…in fact I think my body is built for this with extra fat reserves.
So my next challenge is to run the Spinx RunFest half marathon on October 30th. The race will be in Greenville, which is great. There is something to be said for waking up in your own bed and going to a race…wonderful!
Yep, so I have been running alot more. I have a love/hate relationship with running. I love it and have been running on and off since high school. I hate it..because I have always managed to get injured at any given moment. Me and physical therapy have been friends many many times.. My hope is that I will become a better runner if I have to do it more. It remains to be seen if this will actually happen. So far with longer distances…comes slower lynne. If I’m going to run 10 miles I’m not going all out at any point…or I am not going to get it done.
I actually am loving running longer distances. I have never before experienced a longer run until this point. When I am running over an hour a crazy thing happens where my heart rate drops and I am just moving…it’s not hard..or easy.. its just happening. I feel like God has given me this wonderful sport to reflect on him and just enjoy.
Unfortunately, I have been battling some aches and pains. I purchased a new shoe because I was having IT band issues and I needed a new shoe. I did not get fit correctly and have been trying to make these new/sad shoes work. So I have spent countless hours figuring out my shoe dilemma. Fortunately there are some kind professionals in the Greenville community that are steering me toward the shoe for my body. I just bought the Nike TriMax and ran 10.5 miles today. So far so good–I have my fingers crossed.
Speaking of 10.5 miles…that is crazy. I have never ran that long before. It was an interesting experience. The first 3 miles were awful…there were some peaks and dips of energy. I am still working on getting my fuel right. I feel like after 1 hour of exercise my body burns calories at an accelerated pace. I’m usually starving..even after gelling every 45 minutes.
About mile 8 I was hoping one of the cyclists on the trail would get close enough that I could borrow their bike and finish…why on earth was I on my feet this long? There is no way I would walk 10 miles, why would I run? But I got it done..and I can still walk. So progress, right?
Switching gears here. I posted a video from a masters swim clinic. I have lots to work on! First my bottom is too low so I need to push my chest into the water so I am more horizontal. This will save some energy with the kicking and just help my efficiency. I have to work on my stroke too. I should be scooping the water more..like I am pulling over a barrel. Swimming habits are really hard to break..but I will keep at it. I am going to try to start swimming with these folks once a week. One visit and I already got so much feedback. It is super intimidating though because these folks are ex-high school/college swimmers. But I’m not going to get better unless I get out
there.
One Response to “>I’ve debated that I would like to keep blogging”

  1. Linsey October 4, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    >Lynne,I'm totally inspired! I love that you don't let intimidation and your nerves stop you! Love you lots!Linsey

Leave a Reply

