>Recipes

20 Feb

>February has been a whirlwind. Somewhere in the madness I have been trying to make more meals at home. This is such a time, money, and gut saver. I tend to eat much healthier when I am controlling the ingredients in my food. More importantly we are trying desperately to get out of debt and eating out is such a money suck. It has gotten so expensive for 2 people to just run out to a fast food joint (15.00 bucks or something…outrageous). The key for us has been planning 2 meals a week BEFORE going grocery shopping. These meals should be either doubled or the type of recipe that makes leftovers. This gets us at least 2-3 meals a week from one planned dinner. It can be challenging and has been an adventure for me to see how much I can squeeze out of one grocery trip..but definitely not easy.

Don’t be scared. She really is genius.

I hate to say this but Martha Stewart is my favorite recipe source right now.  It’s not until I started crafting and cooking more did I realize that this woman’s empire is frighting yet genius.  One of the reasons I started cooking her items more is mainly because the recipes are simple and they don’t use a bunch of junk (hydrogenated fats, meat substitutes, and other processed yuck).  Plus, many of you know that my husband is notorious for not liking many foods…so I have to plan accordingly and keep it simple. I’m excited to say that all of these recipes got the Johnny B thumbs up!

1. Baked Ziti with Garlic Bread.  I substituted whatever fresh veggies we had for a salad. I doubled the recipe to make a large pan (Pyrex dish) full to freeze some..but we loved it so much we didn’t freeze any.  Vegetarian and delicious!
2.Tortilla Soup with Black Beans. Another good vegetarian option. Could have added some shredded chicken and would have been yum too. This recipe wins for the quickest/easiest recipe I made this month.
3. Sloppy Joes. I need to preface this recipe to say that I hated Sloppy Joes as a child. I actually hated any meat and tomato combo. I thought this sounded good and I wanted to try it. We used Grass Fed/humanely treated ground beef. P.S. you can afford good quality meat if you reduce your overall meat consumption, which is what we do. I made it last night with a side salad and some oven fries. John ate two sandwiches so needless to say it will stay in the rotation.
4.Turkey Meatloaf. This is an Emeril recipe that was posted on Martha’s website. We have made it twice now. It is wonderful! I doubled it and definitely tweaked it though. Added thyme and fresh sage (turkey and sage go nice together). Substituted Italian seasoned breadcrumbs for plain..because that’s what I had on hand. Omitted the Emeril Essence seasoning and didn’t use the peppers because both attempts to make the recipe I didn’t have any on hand. The peppers would be a good addition though.
5. Chocolate Chip, Oatmeal, and Pecan Cookies. I subscribe to Everyday Food magazine..love! The last page of this months magazine was for these cookies. I can’t find the recipe online to share but they were very similar to these. I took these to work (very small office with not alot of people that love sweets) and they were gone in 2 days. So, I think they were a hit.

Where do you get recipes/food inspiration from?

2 Responses to “>Recipes”

  1. amberlynn February 20, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    >martha's recipes are great! you can always count on them to work. her recipes are always tested many times, which isn't true for some chefs who put out cookbooks/tv shows. i try to meal plan the same way you are describing- planning a couple meals that will use similar ingredients, and i love meals that have lots of leftovers. soup is my favorite "time/money/gut" saver : ) i'll make a huge pot sunday night and we have it for dinner or lunch for the rest of the week. luckily we don't get tired of eating the same thing over and over! if i am feeling unmotivated while trying to plan meals for the week, i try to think of one ingredient i want to have, and build a meal or dish around that. sorry this got so long..i love talking about food : ) -amber

  2. Lynne February 23, 2011 at 3:56 am #

    >thanks Amber! We need to get together soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

